Assignment #5

https://photos.app.goo.gl/ZDzOGsOPMsFtkAFl1

An Identity is the qualities of a person that define who they are. A dominant narrative is a story that people in a position of privilege tell about someone who is not. And a counter narrative is a story or perspective that people who are marginalized tell about themselves. It is important to tell a counter narrative about a dominant narrative because if you keep quiet people might think the dominant narrative is true, and people might also think that every person who are the same as you might be the dominant narrative as well.

First of all, a dominant narrative is like a story that people that have more power tell about people that are lower or inferior to them. For example if I was a certain ethnic group and I have a healthy life and a good paying job, the higher-ups like rich people or leaders that have money can look at me and go,” Well that person looks like he is poor”. One picture that I have is about me being a gamer. A lot of people say that gamer are anti social, don’t talk, and are fat. Well im not none of those. Being fat is ok but not everybody is fat.

To begin with a counter narrative is important to me personally because I can say say something back to people that say things about me. One counter narrative I put on my shadowbox planner is that Gamers are not those disgusting little trolls that people say, they are human beings just playing video games. Another counter narrative I put is that people call me Mexican but i’m american. I put this on the shadowbox because people call me mexican just because of skin color. I don’t associate with mexico, my ethnicity is not mexican, and I don’t speak perfect spanish.

First identity is important to me because identity describes me and without identity nobody would know who I am. My pictures that describe my identities are space theme but I will explain. One picture that I will put on my shadowbox is a picture of Earth. I put that on there because earth is my home and I respect and love my home. Another picture I’m going to put on the shadow box is a space shuttle. The space shuttle represent things that help me go places or help me reach my goals. And the Last picture i’m going to put on my shadow box is a astronaut. The astronaut represent me, because I’m a person that is a explorer or a person that will “reach the stars” to reach my goals.

2 thoughts on “Assignment #5”

  1. Dear Matthew,

    I am a student at LIFE Academy and I am here to comment about your shadow box because I believe that you did a great job showing who you are using a shoe box and images.

    One sentence you wrote that stood out to me is,” One counter narrative I put on my shadowbox planner is that Gamers are not those disgusting little trolls that people say, they are human beings just playing video games¨. I agree with this statement because people think that gamers are lo lives and that they don’t have a very good life. You are proving them wrong.

    Another sentence that I was surprised was,¨One picture that I will put on my shadowbox is a picture of Earth. I put that on there because earth is my home and I respect and love my home¨. This quote speaks out to me and that life is life. We live in a planet and we don´t even cherish it, which we should start doing.

    Thanks for your writing. I look forward to seeing what you write next, because you have a vision of life that people need to see. You need to speak out on what you believe, don let anyone hold you back. I hope I get to read another project of yours.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *